LinkedIn has announced availability of one of the most requested feature on the professional networking site – member blocking – giving users one more tool to protect their online privacy on the site.
“I’m pleased to share that we are rolling out a new Member Blocking feature today to all LinkedIn members”, said Paul Rockwell, Trust & Safety Head at LinkedIn in a forum post. “We built this feature not only because it was a feature our members requested, but because we also knew it was the right thing to do.”
Users will not only be able to better control their privacy, but will also be able to protect themselves from unwanted contacts bugging them on the networking site. Users can find the option in the drop-down box on a user’s profile, next to the “Send InMail” button.
LinkedIn already provides multiple options through which users can configure privacy options on the website including disconnect from exiting connection, ability to control activity broadcasts, ability to set profile and photo visibility settings, but the member blocking is definitely something that will come as a relief to users who are tired of unwanted marketing emails and connection requests.
The professional networking sites suggests that before users go about blocking other members, they turn on anonymous profile viewing and then check out the profile of the member they wish to block. This way the member in question will only be notified that some LinkedIn user viewed his or her profile.
There are a couple of things that you need to keep in mind once you block a member. First and foremost as soon as you block a member you won’t be able to access each other’s profile pages or even message one another. Further, all endorsements and recommendations will be removed for your profile.
On top of this, neither you nor the member you blocked will be recommended under “people you may know” or “people also viewed” sections of the site.